May. 15, 2024

HARRISBURG – The School Safety and Security Committee (SSSC) under the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency (PCCD) approved nearly $2 million in competitive school safety and security grants to improve safety, security and mental health supports for students and staff at schools in Lehigh, Montgomery and Northampton counties.

“I am very happy to learn of the school safety grants that were awarded to the schools in the 131st District,” said Mackenzie. “I have long advocated for increased security measures to be installed at our schools to protect students, teachers and staff.”

Grant funding awarded includes, but is not limited to:

Lehigh County
   • East Penn School District received $247,934.
   • Lehigh Career and Technical Institute received $70,000.
   • Salisbury Township School District received $154,481.
   • Southern Lehigh School District received $179,082.

Montgomery County
   • Souderton Area School District received $479,398.
   • Upper Perkiomen School District received $630,000.
   • Western Montgomery Career and Technical Center received $70,000.

Northampton County
   • Bethlehem Area Vocational-Technical School received $70,000.
   • Career Institute of Technology received $70,000.
   • Saucon Valley School District received $166,092.

The SSSC collectively approved $155 million in federal and state school safety funding. Additionally, funds were also awarded to several charter schools, nonpublic schools, and intermediate units residing in or servicing constituents from the 131st District.

These funds will support the School Safety and Security Committee’s goal of ensuring all Pennsylvania students can learn in safe, healthy school environments. The grants will help school entities address basic safety needs and mental health services as identified in the committee’s recently adopted revised baseline criteria standards.

Representative Milou Mackenzie
131st Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Will Jones
717.260.6615 |